The Last Wish





The first short story collection.
Geralt is a witcher, a man whose magic powers, enhanced by long training and a mysterious elixir, have made him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin. Yet he is no ordinary murderer: his targets are the multifarious monsters and vile fiends that ravage the land and attack the innocent. He roams the country seeking assignments, but gradually comes to realise that while some of his quarry are unremittingly vile, vicious grotesques, others are the victims of sin, evil or simple naivety. One reviewer said: 'This book is a sheer delight. It is beautifully written, full of vitality and endlessly inventive: its format, with half a dozen episodes and intervening rest periods for both the hero and the reader, allows for a huge range of characters, scenarios and action. It's thought-provoking without being in the least dogmatic, witty without descending to farce and packed with sword fights without being derivative. The dialogue sparkles; characters morph almost imperceptibly from semi-cliche to completely original; nothing is as it first seems. Sapkowski succeeds in seamlessly welding familiar ideas, unique settings and delicious twists of originality: his Beauty wants to rip the throat out of a sensitive Beast; his Snow White seeks vengeance on all and sundry, his elves are embittered and vindictive. It's easily one of the best things I've read in ages.'

    • Sideantal
    • Udgivelsesår
    • Udgave
    • Oplag
    • Forlag
    • Originalsprog
    • Sprog
    • Indbinding
    • ISBN/EAN
      / 9780575082441

Om forfatteren

Andrzej Sapkowski

Andrzej Sapkowski er polsk forfatter og en af verdens mest anerkendte fantasy-forfattere. Han er bedst kendt for sin populære serie om den muterede hekser (witcheren) Geralt af Rivia, som er blevet til både spil, film og TV-serier. ...

Se forfatterprofil


16/07-2017 - 10:17
Den allerførste Witcher bog
The Last Wish er endnu en bog jeg har villet læse i årevis.
Andrzej Sapkowski hedder den polske forfatter og han skrev hele Witcher sagaen (7 bøger!) helt tilbage i 1990erne.
Først i 2007 udkom den her bog på engelsk - samme år som det første Witcher spil udkom til pc. Og så gik det stærkt!

Skriv anmeldelse

Varen blev lagt i din kurv